These are the soccer teams classified for the Paris Games


The elimination of Brazil when defeated by Argentina (0-1) on the last day of the South American Olympic Qualifiers left Paris 2024 without a champion in the two previous editions and with the Albiceleste team, Spain and France as the only teams to ever win gold in the men’s soccer tournament at the Games.

The last day at the Brígido Iriarte stadium in Caracas confirmed the classification for Paris 2024 Argentina and of Paraguay and the elimination of Canarinha, who has not missed an Olympic event since Athens 2004.

Thus The names of 12 of the 16 teams are already known who will compete in the men’s soccer tournament: host France, United States, Dominican Republic, Spain, Israel, Ukraine, Morocco, Egypt, Mali, New Zealand, Paraguay and Argentina. The U-23 Asian Cup that gives three places and the play-off between the fourth place from Africa, Guinea, and the Asian tournament remains to be resolved.

Brazil announced its options 20 years after winning the crown for the first time in its history at the Maracaná in Rio de Janeiro, with Neymar as the star figure, by defeating Germany in the Rio 2016 final in a penalty shootout (1 – 1 and 5-4), and was renewed at Tokyo 2020 against Spain with a 2-1 extra time victory with a goal from Malcolm (2-1).

Brazil, which won its first men’s soccer medal in Atlanta’96 Earning bronze, Helena has not left the podium since she was absent from the event. He was also third in Beijing 2008, runner-up in London 2012 and winner in Rio and Tokyo.

Of the confirmed participants, Argentina He has the best Olympic record thanks to his two consecutive titles in Athens and Beijing, tournaments where he was crowned champion by defeating Paraguay and Nigeria 1-0 in the finals led by Marcelo Bielsa and Sergio Batista, with Carlos Tévez and Leo Messi as great figures.

Javier Mascherano, coach of the under-23 team, he was part of the squad that won gold at the Athens Olympics and will now have the opportunity to guide the Albiceleste in France, like Carlos Jara, who earned a pass from Paraguay, leading to silver twenty years ago ago

France it will try to achieve a second Olympic title after what it achieved in Los Angeles’84 by defeating Brazil 2-0 in the final with goals from François Brisson and Daniel Xuereb and the technical direction of Henri Michel. Now he will try, in front of his audience, to get revenge in Tokyo, a tournament where he lost in the group stage.

Spain, for its part, was crowned at Olympic level at home, in Barcelona’92, by defeating Poland in a colorful Camp Nou final (3-2) with a late goal from Kiko Narváez. Silver in Antwerp 1920, La Roja had two more runners-up, in Sydney 2000 and Tokyo 2020, losing in the finals against Cameroon and Brazil, on penalties (2-2, 5-3) and in extra time ( 2-1).

As for women’s contest, of the twelve participants, only five are known: France, United States, Brazil, Colombia and Canada. The qualifications for Oceania, Europe, Asia and Africa remain to be resolved, which will have to be debated in the coming months.

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this