Live commentary: State Parliament – Carinthian state government is officially sworn in


During today’s constituent session of the Carinthia state parliament, not only will the three presidents and the federal councilors be elected and the members sworn in, but also the new/old state government of the SPÖ and ÖVP will be officially sworn in. The “Krone” reports live.

At 9:15 a.m., the newly elected state parliament is convened for the first session of the 33rd legislature. On the agenda are the election of the presidents of the state parliament, the federal councilors and the swearing in of the new state government of the SPÖ and ÖVP.

The state parliament is opened by the chairman of the state parliament, Karl Markut, who also presides over the session. At the greetings he specifically mentioned the military commander of Carinthia, Walter Gitschthaler, who was present.

After the greeting, the explanation follows, followed by the swearing in of the members of the Landtag. The director of the state parliament, Robert Weiß, read the pledge formula and the members rose from their seats. With the words “I vow”, each member individually accepts his mandate – only six of the total of 36 MPs are women. The parties are called up sequentially in order of their faction strength (SPÖ, FPÖ, ÖVP, Team Kärnten). The new state parliament is therefore fully composed.

Reinhard Rohr, Andreas Schwerwitzl (both SPÖ) and Christoph Staudacher (FPÖ) are the candidates for the post of first, second and third president of the state parliament. The newly sworn-in members of the Carinthia state parliament deposit their ballots in a ballot box.

Source: Krone


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this