From Kempes to 2014 penalties, stories from Argentina-Netherlands


This Friday Argentina and Leo Messi’s Netherlands will again appear in the quarterfinals of Qatar 2022 a World Cup classic, whose history includes, among its stages, the 1978 World Cup final, with the Albiceleste as host during the military dictatorship in that South American country. And that’s right, a few kilometers from the Monumental stadium, where Daniel Passarella, captain of Argentina, received the trophy from the hands of the coup general Jorge Rafael Videla, is the Superior School of Mechanics of the Navy, where they were tortured and killed. .

On June 26, 1978, César Luis Menotti’s Argentina won 3-1, with two goals from Mario Alberto Kempes and one from Daniel Bertoni, after extra time against an ‘Oranje’ without Johan Cruyff. Dick Nanninga forced extra time with his goal, making it 1-1. This is the first world title for the albiceleste (who also won Mexico 1986 with the best Diego Armando Maradona).

The one from 1978 is the second consecutive World Cup final lost by the Dutch teamafter falling four years ago, amazed and then led by Johan Cruyff, against Germany (2-1).

In the 1974 World Cup won by the hosts, the Federal Republic of Germany, Argentina and the Netherlands also met then: there was a 0-4 win for the Dutch in the 2nd phase of the tournament, with a brace from Cruyff and goals from Ruud Krol and Johnny Rep. That Argentina, with Daniel Carnevali under the sticks and led by Roberto Perfumo, finished last in group A and was left out of the semifinals.

There is no doubt that, as far as World Cups are concerned, this confrontation between Argentina and the Dutch team is a true classic. In the 1998 World Cup, the Netherlands eliminated the albiceleste in the quarterfinals with a 2-1 score. They marked Patrick Kluivert (who signed for Barcelona that same summer) and Dennis Bergkamp for ‘Oranje’, directed by Guus Hiddink and finished fourth. Claudio ‘Piojo’ López made it 1-1 for Argentina.

And in the 2006 edition, in the first stage, 0-0 between albiceleste and ‘Oranje’. Finally, at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, Leo Messi’s Argentina left the Netherlands in the semifinals, was coached then, as now, by Louis van Gaal. It’s on penalties: 2-4 in the shootout after 0-0. Messi converted Argentina’s first top penalty and Maxi Rodríguez, the last and decisive one. For Van Gaal, Ron Vlaar and Wesley Sneijder failed.

Argentina and the Netherlands have met nine times. The albiceleste won three times, the ‘Oranje’ four times and had two draws.

WORLD CUP IN GERMANY 1974 / 2nd phase

06/26/1974 Argentina-Netherlands, 0-4


06/25/1978 Argentina-Netherlands, 3-1


07/04/1998 Netherlands-Argentina, 2-1

WORLD CUP IN GERMANY 2006 / 1st phase

06/21/2006 Netherlands-Argentina, 0-0

WORLD CUP IN BRAZIL 2014 / Semifinals

Netherlands-Argentina, 0-0 (2-4 on penalties)


05/22/1979 Netherlands-Argentina, 0-0 (7-8 on penalties)


05/26/1974 Netherlands-Argentina, 4-1

03/31/1999 Netherlands-Argentina, 1-1

02/12/2003 Netherlands-Argentina, 1-0

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this