Alcaraz, Medvedev and Zverev aim to reclaim the Laver Cup


Carlos Alcaraz will make his debut on September 20 of this year in the Laver Cupthe competition promoted by the former tennis player Roger Federer, at the Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin. The 2023 Wimbledon and 2022 US Open champion is the first member announced to represent the European team of the Swedish captain and former tennis player Bjorn Borg.

The Murcian will not attend this event alone. The Australian Open finalist Daniel Medvedev and number 6 in the world Alexander Zverev will join Alcaraz in Team Europe. Borg vowed to wrest the Cup from the defending champion, the Team Worldwho is the captain of his eternal rival John McEnroeand quickly included three of the biggest names in tennis on his six-player roster.

“Team Europe is very motivated to win the Cup in Berlin again,” said Borg. “With Daniil, Sascha and Carlos in my team, I think we have a good chance to achieve it. The boys had an incredible start to the year, and it was a really strong first half for our lineup. “I am delighted to have these champions for 2024.”

Medvedev and Zverev are both Laver Cup champions, while Alcaraz will participate for the first time.

Medvedevwho reached his third men’s final at the Australian Open this year, will represent Team Europe at the Laver Cup Boston in 2021, weeks after winning his first Grand Slam title at the US Open. He is currently ranked number 3 in the ATP rankings.

ZverevThe German-born, who lost a five-set thriller to Medvedev in the Melbourne semi-finals, has been part of the winning side every time he has competed in the Laver Cup competition. He competed in the first four editions, all won by Team Europe, in Prague (2017), Chicago (2018), Geneva (2019) and Boston (2021).

Each team consists of six players, all of whom must play a single match on the first two days, and no more than two of the three days of competition. At least four of the six players must play doubles. Each game won is worth one point on Friday, two on Saturday and three on Sunday. The first team to get 13 points wins the Laver Cup.

Named after Australian tennis legend Rod Lavercalendar years of the Grand Slam winner in 1962 and 1969, the Laver Cup was played in a amazing black court to be built inside the Mercedes-Benz Arena.

The three highest ranked players on each team They will get a guaranteed invitation based on their ATP singles ranking on the Monday after Roland-Garros (June 10, 2024).

The remaining three will be chosen by the captains and named anytime before the start of the US Open. By naming Alcaraz, Medvedev and Zverev in his team so far, Borg is promising to exercise captain’s choice on any or all of them if they don’t qualify through the rankings.

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this