This is the team that has reached the World Cup final the most times… and not won


If it is true that football owes some clubs, countries or players, Netherlands It will be one of the good candidates for the 2022 World Cup. And it is the Oranje team planted in this event as the one that attempted to attack the title the most times without succeeding even once.

The history indicates that the predecessors of Frenkie de Jong and company have arrived three times in the final of a World Cup and all three times they lost. The first, at that time German Federal Republic, when with Johan Cruyff and Johan Neeskens in front the clockwork orange was planted in the final of 1974 against the local team, who knew how to overcome the first 0-1 of the Dutch to win the title (2-1).

Four years later, in Argentina-78, history will repeat itself. That time, without Johan Cruyff, the great Oranje star, who resigned from the World Cup because of the dictatorship that ruled the South American giant. In the final, and again against the hosts, the Europeans ended up succumbing to Marito Kempes and company for 3-1 after extra time.

And in 2010, the third and final big slap. It’s on South Africawith the Spain of Andrés Iniesta as a rival. The story is familiar: 0-0 at the end of 90 minutes, extra time, goal from ‘Inest of my life’, Historic victory for La Roja… and a new ‘day at the office’ for the Netherlands, who chained their third (and so far last) final and their third (and so far last) ‘title’ of runner-up.

Germany (either as a Federal Republic or as a united Germany) was defeated final four (1966, 1982, 1986 and 2002) but ‘consoled’ with as many titles (1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014) and Argentina equal the Netherlands in lost finals (1930, 1990 and 2014), but added two more wins (1978 and 1986).

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this