This will be the next edition of the Nations League


The UEFA A circular has just been sent to all national federations announcing what will be the format of the new edition of the Nations League, recently approved by UEFA Executive Committeeand where Spain He will leave as the reigning champion of the tournament.

The competition starts in September 2024 and the league stage will have four dates: September 5-10, October 10-15 and November 14-19, 2024.

Participating teams will be assigned to four leagues based on the teams’ results in the last edition of the tournament, taking into account promotions and relegations between leagues. Only the relegation tie is pending, between Lithuania and Gibraltar in accordance with the revised format compared to the last edition.

It will be in the draw on February 8 when the 14 groups will be decided in the draw for the league stage which will take place in Paris. Within each group, teams will play once at home and once away and according to the “football week” concept. Therefore, six matches will be scheduled for teams in League A, B and C, and four matches for teams in League D. League D teams will have to organize friendly matches on dates without competitive match.

The Final Four for the title will be played from June 4 to 8, 2025

The group champions and runners-up of League A will participate in the home and away quarter-finals in March 2025. The group champions will face a runner-up from another group and play the second leg at home. UEFA has set two dates for this: March 20 and 25

The four winners of the quarterfinals qualify for the June 2025 finals to be held from June 4 to 8. As in the previous three editions, the single-leg semi-finals will be followed by a single-leg final and a third-place match in a place designated by the UEFA Executive Committee.

New qualifiers on March 20-25, 2025 and March 26-31, 2026

The future Nations League calendar will also include promotions and relegations between the various leagues. Thus, two-legged promotion/relegation playoffs will be held between all leagues after the league stage: eight ties between League A/League B and League B/League C in March 2025, and two ties between of League C/League D in March 2026 Teams from the respective higher league will face teams from the lower league and play the second leg at home.

2022-23 Nations League relegation lists

As a result, in addition to the decision on this new format taken by the UEFA Executive Committee on December 2, 2023, the 2022 and 2023 Nations League relegation ties have been changed. Instead of two ties between the fourth-placed League C (Cyprus , Belarus, Lithuania and Gibraltar), only one tie will be played between the two lowest-ranked teams of the four, Lithuania and Gibraltar:

On Thursday, March 21, 2024, Gibraltar – Lithuania and on Tuesday, March 26, 2024, Lithuania – Gibraltar

The losing team will be the only one to be relegated from League C to League D. Cyprus, Belarus and the winner of the play-off tie will remain in League C in the 2024/25 edition.

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this