The Dubai Desert Classic, with 11 Spaniards and some ‘greats’


Established stars and emerging talents on 35th edition of the Hero Dubai Desert Classica tournament incorporated into the International Swing of DP World Tour which will be held from Thursday to Sunday at Emirates Golf Club. The number 2 in the world ranking and defending champion, Rory McIlroyleading the ‘field’ of the first event of Rolex Series in the Race to Dubai 2024, looking for his fourth win here. The Northern Irishman will be joined by other major winners such as Brian Harmanwho debuted in the tournament, Francesco Molinari and Adam Scott.

The Hojgaard brothers, Nicolai and Rasmus, are among a group of multiple tournament winners gathering at Emirates Golf Club, including 2023 European Tour Golfer of the Year Adrian Meronk, who has three titles in 2023, and Ryan Fox , who achieved his fourth DP World Tour victory and his first in the Rolex Series last season.

The winner will also go to the Majlis Course on Sunday at Dubai Creek Tommy Fleetwood and his compatriot Tyrrell Hatton.

And there will be eleven Spanish golfers. It was the largest number since the tournament rose through the ranks and became one of the most important of the season under its Rolex Series status. This year there are nine million dollars in prizes and 8,000 European ranking points.

The eleven Spaniards present in Dubai are Pablo Larrazabalwho will play in the tournament for the 16th time in a row and against 2025 Ryder captain Luke Donald, Jorge Campillo, Adrián Otaegui, Adri Arnaus, Nacho Elvira, Santi Tarrio, Alex del Rey, Rafa Cabrera, Angel Hidalgo, Sebastián García Rodríguez and Manu Elvira.

The number of eleven Spaniards in Dubai has not been surpassed since 2014, when there were twelve, and was only equaled in 2019. Miguel Ángel Jiménez was not there. The man from Malaga will not be able to play because this year coincides with the Mitsubishi Electric Championship in Hualalai, the first tournament on the PGA Tour Champions calendar.

Finally, remember that at the Desert Classic up to six different Spaniards have won this tournament throughout its 34-year history: Seve Ballesteros (1992), Txema Olazabal (1998), Miguel Ángel Jiménez (2010), Álvaro Quirós (2011) , Rafa Cabrera (2012) and Sergio García (2017).

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this