Fifteen locations aim to be part of the Iberian candidacy


The Federation, together with the Autonomous Communities and Municipal Councils, is studying all proposals in search of the eleven Spanish stadiums that, together with three Portuguese, would host matches of the 2030 World Cup

The Spanish Football Federation (FEF) already has 15 stadiums that want to be part of the Iberian bid between Spain and Portugal to try to host the 2030 World Cup. To the list of fourteen stadiums in Spain already pending in recent days Balaídos, in Vigo, is finally joining, so a process is opened that should outline the final list of fourteen venues, eleven of them Spanish, as the stadiums Da Luz and José Alvalade in Lisbon and Do Dragao, in Porto, seem to stand firm as Portuguese representation.

The Santiago Bernabéu and the Metropolitano, in Madrid, strive to overcome the cut; the Camp Nou and the RCDE stadium, in Barcelona, ​​​​​​La Cartuja in Seville; the New Mestalla in Valencia; San Mamés in Bilbao and Anoeta in San Sebastian; Riazor and Balaidos, in A Coruña and Vigo; La Romareda, in Zaragoza; El Molinon, in Gijon; La Rosaleda, in Malaga; La Nueva Condomina in Murcia and the Gran Canaria Stadium in Las Palmas.

A list drawn up after the first meeting between the FEF, autonomous communities, municipal councils and club representatives in the Ciudad del Fútbol de Las Rozas, which exudes the scent of that unforgettable summer of 1982, with the only World Cup played in Spain.

How could it be otherwise, the project revolves around the renovated Santiago Bernabéu and Camp Nou, one of which is already well advanced and the other is on the way to start a necessary reform. Other classic Spanish football venues have given way to their replacements, such as the Nuevo San Mamés, the Metropoliano, the Nuevo Mestalla or the RCDE stadium, which will take over from the classic San Mamés, the Vicente Calderón, the Mestalla still in use , 40 years old is still called Luis Casanova, and Sarriá.

In Seville, La Cartuja, the Federation’s favorite stadium, leaves out Benito Villamarín and Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán, the temples of Betic and Seville. La Romareda, Riazor, Balaídos, El Molinón and La Rosaleda, five stadiums with character, survive, although they will have to make renovations and increase their capacity to aim for repeat as World Cup players. Anoeta, La Nueva Condomina and the Gran Canaria Stadium are added, omitting key players from 1982 such as Carlos Tartiere from Oviedo, José Zorrilla from Valladolid, Martínez Valero from Elche and José Rico from Alicante.

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this