Aurora Luque, National Poetry Prize for ‘A finite number of summers’


The jury has highlighted her work for its “exciting, demanding, transparent lyrical depth, which places the author’s unmistakable voice as one of today’s great poets”

On the proposal of the jury meeting on Thursday 22 September, Aurora Luque has received the National Poetry Prize, corresponding to the year 2022, for her work ‘A Finite Number of Summers’. The prize, awarded by the Ministry of Culture and Sports, is endowed with 20,000 euros, the department reports.

The jury highlighted her work for its “high lyrical depth, exciting, demanding, transparent, which places the author’s unmistakable voice as one of the great poets” of today.

«Because it is a book of joy: of beauty, of the word, of the sensual, of life in general. A song for the Mediterranean and for the love of the Greek tradition, which looks at the universe from the past to understand the present, using the sources of the tradition and the forms of antiquity to interpret our days. A classic mosaic that we get back today that takes us back in time,” he adds.

Luque (Almería, 1962), is a poet, storyteller and translator and holds a doctorate in classical philology from the University of Granada. In Malaga she worked as a Greek teacher, columnist, editor and cultural manager, where she headed the Centro Generación del 27 between 2008 and 2011. She also created and directed the poetry collection Cuadernos de Trinacria and, together with Jesús Aguado, the collection MaRemoto the poetry from other cultures of the CEDMA. In 2005 he founded the publishing house Narila.

Likewise, he was a member of the Advisory Board of the Puerta del Mar Collection, also of the CEDMA, as well as the Board of Directors of the Book Institute of the Municipal Council of Malaga and the Social Council of the University of Malaga. He is also part of the Translation, Literature and Society research group at the University of Malaga.

He has published poems in magazines such as Barcarola, Turia, Clarín, Ficciones or Zurgai. In his poetic work, the following titles stand out: ‘Gavieras’, for which he won the Loewe Prize in 2019, ‘Orinque’ (2017), ‘Haikus de Narila. Port’ (2017), ‘The absorbed lemons. Mediterranean Poems’ (2016), winning the Critical Status Award 2016, Personal & Political (2015), Cuaderno de Flandes (2015), La siesta de Epicurus (2008), winning the Generation of 27 , ‘Haikus de Narila’ (2005), ‘Comrades from Ícaro’ (2003), ‘Transitoria’ (1998), which won the Andalusian Critics Award, and ‘Carpe noctem’ (1994).

In addition to the above awards, she was awarded the 1982 Federico García Lorca Prize from the University of Granada for ‘Hiperiónida’ and the Fray Luis de León Prize for ‘Comrades of Icarus’.

In addition, he was a finalist for the 1992 City of Melilla International Poetry Prize, and in 2016 he was awarded the Andalusian Radio and Television Audience Prize in the Literature category.

He has made translations of French, Latin and Greek poetry, ancient and modern, such as ‘Greco-Roman. Lyrical Survivor of Classical Antiquity’ (2020); ‘If not, winter. Fragments of Sappho’, by A. Carson (2019); ‘That life of the sea. The Sea in Greek Poetry’ (2015); ‘Sonnets and elegies’, by Louise Labé (2011); ‘Poems’, by Renée Vivien (2007); ‘Poems and Testimonials’, by Safo (2004); or ‘The dice of Eros. Anthology of Greek Erotic Poetry’ (2000).

The jury, chaired by María José Gálvez Salvador, General Director of Books and Reading Promotion, and acting as Vice President, Jesús González González, Deputy Deputy Director of the General Subdirectorate for the Promotion of Spanish Books, Reading and Letters, is formed by María Paz Battaner Arias, appointed by the Royal Spanish Academy; Gonzalo Navaza Blanco, for the Royal Galician Academy/Royal Galician Academy; Leire Bilbao Barruetabeña, by the Royal Academy of the Basque Language/Euskaltzaindia; Josep Piera Rubio, for the Institute of Catalan Studies/Institut d’Estudis Catalans; Artur Ahuir López, for the Valencian Academy of Language/Valencian Academy of Language; Román Álvarez Rodríguez, for the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE); Francisco Javier Lostalé Alonso, by the Collegiate Association of Writers of Spain (ACE); Juan José Lanz Rivera, by the Spanish Association of Literary Critics; Carmen Enríquez Medina, for the Federation of Journalists’ Associations of Spain (FAPE); Esther Borrego Gutiérrez, of the Feminist Research Institute of the Complutense University of Madrid; Àngels Gregori Parra, for the Ministry of Culture and Sports and Miren Agurtzane Meabe Plaza, award-winning author in the 2021 call.

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this