Djokovic, on the track pending his health: The program for the day of the Australian Open


Novak Djokovic He had to invest four hours to win his debut at the 2024 Australian Open. An unexpected upset for the ten-time tournament champion and world number one, facing an 18-year-old debutant, the Croatian Dino Prizmic.

The Serbian, 36 years old, will have to push against a youngster from the previous stage and current Roland Garros junior champion to reach the second round.

In his favour, he has had a two-day recovery since his debut on Sunday’s historic first opening day of this Grand Slam, returning to competition on Wednesday. In front, the Australian Alexei Popyrina 24-year-old ‘gunner’ and world number 43.

Djokovic has already beaten him 6-4 and 6-2 in the round of 32 in Tokyo 2019. But Balkan’s biggest concern is his health. “Physically, I’m still looking for myself,” he said after their inaugural meeting.

The season is starting, it’s hard to recover the competitive tone. But also Djokovic He revealed that “I was referring to the fact that I have felt a little bad for four or five days. My voice gives it away.” Very hot outside, freezing air conditioner inside. Colds and viruses are a constant threat to the tournament.

“It is what it is. You have to face it and overcome it. Accept the circumstances, try to give your best,” said Djokovic, who clarified before the Open that “the elbow is fine at the moment, I can play without pain Although “With the adrenaline of the competition, we’ll see how it goes.”

This Wednesday, closing of the local night shift. Around 11 a.m. Spanish peninsular and central European time, Djokovic returned to the Rod Laver Arena headquarters.


Rod Laver Arena

02:00 hours

Ons Jabeur (Tun/6)-Mirra Andreeva (Rus)
Alex de Minaur (Aus/10)-Matteo Arnaldi (Ita)
(09:00 hours)
Brenda Fruhvirtova (Che)-Aryna Sabalenka (Blr/2)
Novak Djokovic (Srb/1)-Alexei Popyrin (Aus)



Margaret Court Arena

02:00 hours

Jannik Sinner (Ita/4)-Jesper de Jong (Ned)
Caroline Dolehide (USA)-Coco Gauff (USA/4)
(09:00 hours)
Jordan Thompson (Aus)-Stefanos Tsitsipas (Gre/7)
Maria Sakkari (Gre/8)-Elina Avanesyan (Rus)



John Cain Arena

01:00 hours

Caroline Wozniacki (Din)-Maria Timofeeva (Rus)
(not before 03:00 hours)
Laura Siegemund (Ale)-Storm Hunter (Aus)
(not before 05:00 hours)
Christopher O’Connell (Aus)-Ben Shelton (USA/16)
Christopher Eubanks (USA)-Andrey Rublev (Rus/5)



Track 6

01:00 hours

Pavel Kotov (Rus)-Flavio Cobolli (Ita/Q)
(not before 03:00 hours)
Paula Badosa (Esp)-Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (Russian)
​Sebastian Korda (USA/29)-Quentin Halys (Fra)



Track 7

1:00 o’clock

Amanda Anisimova (USA)-Nadia Podoroska (Arg)
​Lorenzo Musetti (Ita/25)-Luca Van Assche (Fra)
​Lesia Tsurenko (Ucr/28)-Rebeka Masarova (Esp)



Track 8

02:30 time

Adrian Mannarino (Fra/20)-Jaume Munar (Esp)

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this