Valderrama’s Matt Fitzpatrick defends the title won last year


The British Matt Fitzpatrick will try to defend from Thursday to Sunday, at the Real Club Valderrama, in the municipality of San Roque (Cádiz), the title won in the last edition of the Estrella Damm NA Andalucía Masterstournament of the ‘DP World Tour’ (then, European Golf Circuit) valid for the Race to Dubai.

Fitzpatrick arrives with the aim of revalidating last year’s success, when he recovered from a three-shot deficit on the historic Sotogrande urbanization course and finished the tournament with a brilliant round of 69 bogey-free to take seventh place in his eight DP World tour titles.

The Canary Rafa Cabrera Bello, for his part, will look for his first title at the emblematic Real Club Valderrama as the main opponent of the Spanish and hopes to do so on the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Ryder Cup held at the San Roque field.

Cabrera won the Spanish Open in 2021, with Basque Jon Rahm replacing him last week, who was one of the absentees this year at Valderrama, where he was last and second in 2019, the year of the South African Christian’s triumph Bezuidenhout. .

Among the remaining remaining players registered for this edition, are the Danish twins Nicolai and Rasmus Højgaardwho has already accumulated five wins on the DP World Tour, and the Spanish Alejandro Cañizares, who already has four hundred tournaments on this circuit.

Scotsman Robert MacIntyre won the DS Automobiles Italian Open title and a week later the Italian Guido Migliozzi won the Cazoo Open de France, with other players present at Valderrama.

At the Sotogrande tournament, other DP World Tour 2022 winners will appear, such as Adrian Meronkwho made history by becoming the first Polish golfer to win on the circuit, as well as international stars such as Ryan Fox of New Zealand, Ashun Wu of China and double winner Thriston Lawrence of South Africa and Ewen Ferguson of Scotland .

The Andalusian competition also includes winners of Rolex Series tournaments such as Australian Min Woo Lee, South African Brandon Stone and Danish Thorbjørn Olesen, who is also a Ryder Cup player and won his sixth DP World Tour title this year. .in the Betfred British Masters.

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this