Alcaraz is ready to replace Nadal in Indian Wells


Rafael Nadal suffered broken ribs while closing out the win Carlos Alcaraz in the semifinals of the Masters 1000 ATP in Indian Wells, one of the tournaments outside of clay where the Spaniard feels more comfortable.

That injury meant he couldn’t compete against the American taylor fritz in what was their fifth final in the competition held in the California desert, in a tennis paradise, as the slogan of the event points out, also a destination prepared for golf lovers like them. Nadal and Alcaraz.

Indian Wells will have a new champion. neither Carlos Alcaraz nor the russian Daniel Medvedev his rival this Sunday, they hadn’t even reached the final before. In the case of the Murcian it was only his third participation.

In the 47-year history of a tournament that has gradually gained the physical and economic space to compete to be considered the fifth Grand Slam, there have been four Spanish tennis players who have won, three men and one woman.

Recently the success of Paula Badosathe only Spanish queen in the women’s draw, after unsuccessful attempts at the end of conchita martinez. Girona defeated Belarusian in 2021 Victoria Azarenka.

The men’s tournament was inaugurated in 1976. pepe fig it was removed in 1983. There was no relief until Alex Corretja lifted the trophy in 2000. The next in the chain was that Rafael Nadalchampion three times, in 2007, 2009 and 2013.

Alcaraz is ready to take the baton, as the fourth Spanish men’s champion, fifth in singles. This is his third Masters 1000 ATP, after the Miami and Madrid in 2022his eighth ATP title.

This will cap off a fantastic start to the campaign. He reappeared in February, after injuries in November and January: the champion in Buenos Aires, the final in Rio, dropped due to a physical problem in Acapulco and, so far, the finalist in Indian Wells.

The Spanish tennis finals in Indian Wells

individual frames

2022: Taylor Fritz (USA) beat Rafa Nadal 6-3, 7-6 (5)
2021: Paula Badosa Victoria Azarenka (Blr) 7-6(5), 2-6, 7-6(2)
2013: Rafael Nadal over Juan Martin Del Potro (Arg) 4-6, 6-3, 6-4
2011: Novak Djokovic (Srb) def. Rafa Nadal 4-6, 6-3, 6-2
2009: Rafael Nadal Andy Murray (GBR) 6-1, 6-2
2007: Rafael Nadal Novak Djokovic (srb) 6-2, 7-5
2000:Alex Corretja Thomas Enqvist (Sue) 6-4, 6-4, 6-3
1999: Mark Philippoussis (Aus) over Carlos Moyà 5-7, 6-4, 6-4, 4-6, 6-2
​1996: Steffi Graf (Ale) over Conchita Martínez 7-6 (5), 7-6 (5)
1992: Monica Seles (Yug) over Conchita Martinez 6-3, 6-1
1988: Boris Becker (Ale) over Emilio Sánchez 7-5, 6-4, 2-6, 6-4
1983: Jose Higueras Eliot Teltscher (USA) 6-4, 6-2

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

Dispute over conversion – In Lebanon, two times apply simultaneously

Due to a curious discussion, two times run parallel... – Prolonged “real estate party” is over

The past 15 years have been marked by enormous...