Alaphilippe and Pidcock in the final rehearsal for the Tour of Flanders


The French Julian Alaphilippe, double world champion, and the British Tom Pidcock are some of the references in the 77th edition of the Belgian classic Through Flanderswhich will be held this Wednesday with a route of 183.5 km between Roeselare and Waregem, where 11 hills and 8 cobbled sections await.

The big names of the season, Tadej Pogacar, Wout Van Aert and Mathieu Van der Poel were absent from the startis already focused on next Sunday’s big event at the Tour of Flanders, the most desired monument of many cyclists.

But in the dress rehearsal for “De Ronde” there are other applicants who will adjust their appearance to Across Flanders. El Soudal presents the double candidacy of Alaphilippe and Tim Merlierthe Jumbo Visma heavy artillery with the triplet of Van Baarle, Benoot and Kooij, while Ineos chose Tom Pidcock and Filippo Ganna and the UAE for Wellens and Trentin.

The list of sprinters hungry for success is extensive, with Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin), Mads Pedersen (Trek), Groenewegen (Jayco) Caleb Ewan (Lotto) and Kristoff (One X).

Movistar will face the cobblestones composed of a team Fernando Gaviria, Joan Jakobs, Oier Lazkano, Lluis Mas, Iván Romeo, Mathias Norsgaard and Max Kanter. For Sunday, his main assets, Iván García Cortina and Matteo Jorgenson, remain in reserve.

The route shows 11 small heights8 pavé sections and a final circuit around Waregem, a great setting for the general rehearsal of Sunday’s big event at the Tour of Flanders.

The last 50 km will be the key, including the second climb to the Côte de Trieu / Knokteberg as the final difficulty of the test, to allow for mostly cobbled sections.

The climb to Ladeuze and the cobbled sections of Herlegemstraat, with two passes, the last 7 km from the finish line, Mariaborrestraat, Doorn and Huisepontweg, and the double pass to Nokereberg will mark the final result of the Belgian classic that this.


The women’s version in its 6th edition will have a route of 114.9 km starting and ending in Waregem. Among those registered are the Italian defending champion Chiara Consonni (UA), the Dutch Demi Vollering and Marianne Vos and the British Pfeiffer Georgi (DSM), recent winner of Bruges-De Panne.

Movistar came to the event with a team made up of Sheyla Gutiérrez, Alicia González, Gloria Rodríguez, Liane Lippert, Floortje Mackaij and Arlenis Sierra.

last winner

2022. Mathieu Van der Poel (PSB)
2021. Dylan Van Baarle (PSB)
2019. Mathieu Van der Poel (PSB)
2018. Yves Lampaert (BEL)

last winner

2022: Chiara Consonni (ITA)
2021. Annemiek Van Vleuten (PSB)
2019. Ellen Van Dijk (PSB)
2018. Ellen Van Dijk (PSB)

Source: La Verdad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this